Skip to content

2017 Australian Junior Track Championships Success | Latest

The 2017 Australian Junior Track Championships was a roaring success over the weekend at Jambaroo Park track, hosted by the North West Victorian Motor Cycle Club.

Junior riders excelled across all classes, in a showcase of raw talent.

The meeting held in the Mildura region was tightly contested in every event, from the larger capacity 250cc 4 stroke’s down to the Pee-Wee Div 2 50cc class, as crowds were treated to a two-day masterclass, for which all competitors can be proud of.

Saturday and Sunday’s racing was clean, fast and furious. With most riders managing to stay up and fiercely battle their way through the fields, there was bar to bar action and many stand out performances to note.

In the 200-250cc 4 Stk Class, Max Whale and Ned Faulkhead were tied on 50 points apiece heading into Saturday’s Round 3 of heats, closely followed by Cyshan Weale and Harrison Ryan on 47 points. The final podium on Sunday was ordered Cyshan Weale in first and Max Whale in second with only .079 of a second between the two with Kye Andrews in third.

Close on points in Saturday’s 100-150 2stk Class was Ned Faulkhead (50), Harry Maxwell and Cysan Weale both on equal 47. Max Whale having machinery trouble only managing to complete one round of heats, finishing in 2nd place.

Girls 85cc 2st/150cc 4stk Class put on a fantastic display and fought hard for their placings. The hotly contested class sees Alyssa Wallace finish first with Ava Faulkhead in second and Chloe Ackerley third. Both Ava and Chloe being club members, this was quite an outstanding result, Ava not having ridden for over 12 months and Chloe has only started dirt track racing this season. Both girls are over the moon with their first Australian Title results.

The 85cc 2stk/150cc 4stk 9-U11 Years standard wheels class was filled with riders pushing themselves to the edge with Tom Drane first, Archie McDonald second then closely followed by Harrison Voight.
The 85 2stk/150 4stk 11-U13 Years Big wheel class is also another hotly contested class, with Senna Agius victorious after taking home 2 wins after 2 heats on Saturday, John Lytras in second and Seth Qualischefski in third on the final podium.

The 65cc 9-U13 Years always put on a show, and the points are close with Tom Drane, Archie McDonald, Zane Kinna rounding the podium in a good show of riding skills.
The 65cc 7-U9 Years also did a great job with straight races and clean riding and leading was Brayden Bradford, Jett Kubelka Kurtis Jackson.
Div 2 50cc 7-U9 Pee Wees had a real battle with Tyler Battams leading, Jeff Kubelka second on points and Alexander Adamson in third, all riding like true champions straight out of the gate.

Australian Junior Track

Results are as follows:
200cc-250cc 4 stroke – 13-u16years
1st – Cyshan Weale
2nd – Max Whale
3rd – Kye Andrews

85cc Modified 10-u14years
1st – Tom Drane
2nd – Harrison Voight
3rd – Senna Agius

85cc Modified 7-u10years
1st – Cameron Dunker
2nd – Jhett Calderwood
3rd – Will Bisley

85cc 2 stroke/150cc 4 stroke Big Wheel – 11-u13years
1st – Senna Agius
2nd – John Lytras
3rd – Seth Qualischefski

85cc 2stroke/150cc 4 stroke Big Wheel 13-u16years
1st – Harrison Ryan
2nd Hamish McCarten
3rd – Travis Hall

65cc 9-u13years
1st – Tom Drane
2nd Archie McDonald
3rd – Zane Kinna

100cc-150cc 2 stroke – 13-u16years
1st – Cyshan Weale
2nd Ned Faulkhead
3rd – Harry Maxwell

65cc 7-u9years
1st – Brayden Bradford
2nd – Jett Kubelka
3rd – Kurtis Jackson

85cc 2 stroke/150cc 4 stroke – Standard Wheel – 9-u11years
1st – Tom Drane
2nd – Archie McDonald
3rd – Harrison Voight

85cc 2 stroke/150cc 4 stroke – Big wheel – Girls – 11-u16years
1st – Alyssa Wallace
2nd – Ava Faulkhead
3rd – Chloe Ackerley

150cc 2 stroke – 250cc 4 stroke – 13-u16years
1st – Max Whale
2nd – Cyshan Weale
3rd – Ned Faulkhead

85cc 2 stroke/150cc 4 stroke – Standard Wheel – 11-u13years
1st – Senna Agius
2nd – John Lytras
3rd – Seth Qualischefski

50cc Auto Div 2 – 7-u9years
1st – Tyler Battams
2nd – Jeff Kubelka
3rd – Alexander Adamson