Skip to content

2019 Australian Speedway Championships Calendar Released | News

Motorcycling Australia has released the 2019 Australian Speedway Championship Calendar, ahead of the highly anticipated Australian Speedway season.

With the exciting 2018 Australian Speedway Championship providing one of the best battles for the championship in recent times, the 2019 season is going to be bigger and better. The Australian Speedway Senior Solo Championship will be be extended from four rounds to five in 2019, with the addition of Albury.

Rohan Tungate took out the 2018 championship and he is excited for the extra round in 2019.

“Last year the title went down to the final race and I was lucky enough to edge out Brady Kurtz, Max Fricke and Jack Holder. The expansion to five rounds is awesome, all the riders are on board and cant wait to race at Albury in 2019,” finished Tungate.

The five gruelling rounds deciding Senior Solo Championship glory will be held in multiple locations across the country in just nine days, kicking off January 3 in Gillman Speedway for Round 1 before moving to Olympic Park Mildura, then onto Underra Speedway before heading to the new location of Albury and winding up at Kurri Kurri New South Wales on January 12.

Ivan Golding Chair – Motorcycling Australia Speedway Commission is thrilled with the expansion to five rounds.

“It’s really exciting for Australian Speedway to extend the championship to another large regional town, and to go from four rounds to five just gives the riders an even better chance to show off their talents,” shared Golding.

Shane Clare President of the newest addition to the Australian Senior Solo Speedway Championship Albury Wodonga Motorcycle Club, is excited to host a round of the 2019 Championship.

“When we started the club 4-5 years ago, our goal was to host a round of the Australian Senior Solo Speedway Championship. To have achieved this goal is something we are really excited about, and we have big plans in place to improve the facility before January 9. We had great feedback after our round of the state titles earlier in 2018, from both riders and spectators, which we hope to continue,” finished Clare.

The Under 16 250cc solo, 125cc Solo and 125cc Teams Championships will be running between 17-20 January at Ipswich Speedway, which will also include the Under 21’s Championship on January 19.

Australian Speedway Senior Solo Championship
Round 1 Thursday 3rd January Gillman Speedway.
Round 2 Saturday 5th January Olympic Park Mildura
Round 3 Monday 7th January Undera Speedway
Round 4 Wednesday 9th January Albury
Round 5 Saturday 12th January Kurri – Kurri.

Australian Speedaway Solo/Teams U16 & U21 Championships
U16 125cc Practice & Qualifying 17th January Ipswich Speedway*
U16 125cc Individual Championship 18th January Ipswich Speedway*
U16 250cc & U21 500cc Championship 19th January Ipswich Speedway*
U16 125cc Pairs Championship 20th January Ipswich Speedway*