Skip to content

AMA Supercross: Eli Tomac Wins In Minneapolis | Latest

Monster Energy Kawasaki's Eli Tomac recorded his third 450SX class main event win of the 2017 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship at Minneapolis on the weekend.

The Kawasaki rider proved to be unstoppable, leading 24 laps en route to his third victory of the season.

Tomac rocketed out to a good start in the 450SX Main Event, only trailing KTM rider Davi Millsaps. He would use the opening two laps to track down Millsaps before making the pass stick. Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey then made quick work of Millsaps for second.

This set up what appeared to be a Tomac vs. Dungey battle for the win, but it would never amount to anything as Dungey struggled with lapped riders throughout the 26-lap feature.

“That was a really tough race tonight. The track had a lot of crazy lines and was really tough. I felt like we did a lot of laps,” said Tomac. “I’m glad to get back on our feet after last week [finishing 15th] and get back to where we were the weeks before that. This was the toughest race of the season so far.”

Meanwhile, Arlington winner Marvin Musquin was putting down consistent laps and managed to catch his teammate. An aggressive move late in the race then moved Musquin into the runner-up position and dropped Dungey to third. The podium remained unchanged following Musquin’s pass.

Jason Anderson finished behind his training partners in fourth with Cole Seely rounding out the top five.
Minneapolis proved to be a rough go for many of the factory riders, most notably the Yamaha duo of Chad Reed and Cooper Webb. A pair of crashes in the main relegated Reed to 16th while teammate Webb did not start following a heat race crash.

In the first Eastern Regional 250SX race of the season, it was Joey Savatgy picking up the win for Pro Circuit Kawasaki.

Savatgy hunted down TLD KTM’s Jordon Smith and made the pass for the lead just before the halfway mark. He then led the final 10 laps to kickstart his 250SX championship bid with a win.

450SX Results:
1. Eli Tomac
2. Marvin Musquin
3. Ryan Dungey
4. Jason Anderson
5. Cole Seely
6. Davi Millsaps
7. Broc Tickle
8. Trey Canard
9. Blake Baggett
10. Mike Alessi

450SX Championship Point Standings
1: Dungey 149
2: Musquin 133
3: Tomac 125
4: Seely 123
5: Anderson 103
6: Millsaps 98
7: Wilson 73
8: Webb 71
9: Reed 69
10: Tickle 69

250SX Results:
1. Joey Savatgy
2. Jordon Smith
3. Zach Osborne
4. RJ Hampshire
5. Adam Cianciarulo
6. Dylan Ferrandis
7. Anthony Rodriguez
8. Luke Renzland
9. Kyle Peters
10. Colt Nichols