Skip to content

Anstie Earns Second Consecutive GP Victory | Latest

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Anstie wrapped up round 15 of the Motocross World Championship with his second consecutive MX2 class GP victory.

Securing 50 valuable championship points at the GP of Switzerland, he climbed to fourth in the MX2 championship standings.

Following his double moto victory last weekend in Belgium, Anstie made light work of the jump filled track at Frauenfeld – Gachnang to keep his winning streak going in Switzerland. Getting a great start in moto one, the Brit took the lead on lap three and never looked back. Involved in a great battle with Jeremy Seewer in race two, Anstie got the best of the Swiss rider to end the GP in the strongest possible way.

Showing impressive speed around the Swiss track, Anstie’s teammate Thomas Covington made a series of mistakes that forced him to settle for an eventual seventh overall in MX2. Suffering from a crash while battling for fourth in moto one, Thomas went on to cross the line in eighth place. Following a poor start in the second moto the American battled his way from the back of the pack to finish 10th.

Conrad Mewse’s weekend started on a high note, with the youngster claiming the holeshot and leading the qualifying race for its first two laps before he dropped to 35th. Unable to secure a good gate pick for Sunday’s motos Conrad was left with a mountain to climb. Battling hard to overcome two mediocre starts the Brit collected 13/8 results to secure 11th overall at the Swiss GP.

Taking advantage of the summer break in the 2016 Enduro World Championship, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Pascal Rauchenecker made a wildcard ride at the GP of Switzerland and was rewarded with an impressive ninth overall in the MX2 class. Battling hard against the series’ regulars, the FC 250 mounted rider secured fifth in moto one and went on to wrap up the GP with 13th in moto two.

Struggling with a finger injury he picked up during the MXGP qualifying race, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl was unable to continue his strong run of form in Switzerland. Spending most of the opening moto in ninth position the German lost a place to Tim Gajser two laps before the end to finish 10th. Getting a poor start in moto two Nagl was 13th at the chequered flag for 12th overall.

The Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing team will return to action at round 16 of the FIM Motocross World Championship at the GP of The Netherlands on August 27/28.

MX2 Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), 35:18.680;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:10.590;
3. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:32.037;
4. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), +0:47.010;
5. Pascal Rauchenecker (AUT, Husqvarna), +0:54.752;
6. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM), +0:57.350;
7. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, Husqvarna), +1:04.853;
8. Thomas Covington (USA, Husqvarna), +1:07.385;
9. Petar Petrov (BUL, Kawasaki), +1:07.965;
10. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +1:09.352.

MX2 Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), 34:19.959;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:01.470;
3. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:43.141;
4. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:47.204;
5. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM), +0:58.480;
6. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), +1:11.612;
7. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), +1:15.345;
8. Conrad Mewse (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:17.906;
9. Michele Cervellin (ITA, Honda), +1:21.132;
10. Thomas Covington (USA, Husqvarna), +1:22.073.

MX2 Overall Top Ten:
1. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 50 points;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 44 p.;
3. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 40 p.;
4. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), 33 p.;
5. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM), 31 p.;
6. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 29 p.;
7. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 24 p.;
8. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 24 p.;
9. Pascal Rauchenecker (AUT, HUS), 24 p.;
10. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), 23 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 597 points;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 554 p.;
3. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 433 p.;
4. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 416 p.;
5. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 403 p.;
6. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 378 p.;
7. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 340 p.;
8. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), 327 p.;
9. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, YAM), 320 p.;
10. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 309 p.