Skip to content

AORC Champions Crowned at Omeo | Latest

Round 11&12 saw champions crowned for the AORC, with Wil Ruprecht taking the E1 crown and Daniel Milner claiming the Outright and E2 championship while Lyndon Snodgrass would be crowned E3 champ.

As the Women’s, Vets and Masters engaged in the final Sprint Race for the 2017 Australian Off-Road Championship season, it would be Wilson, Murray and Grundy to come out on top for their respective classes.

The final round of the 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) concluded on Sunday in fine style in the township of Omeo. After Daniel Milner and Wil Ruprecht took their respective championship titles a day early on Saturday, there was plenty of interest to see who would the title for extremely tight E3. The format for today’s race would be an extremely fast Sprint Race consisting of five laps, the riders with the fastest accumulated times won the races. Riders who rose to the top and claimed wins included; Simpson, Milner and Snodgrass.

The highlight of the day was the crowning of new champion Lyndon Snodgrass (E3).

It was a day to remember for KTM rider Jack ‘Simmering’ Simpson, as he snatched the victory from Scott Keegan of the Snap Fitness Yamaha Team. Simpson was a rider possessed and won by a convincing 43 seconds. Simpson was fastest from the very first test and it was clear that it would be his day from the ‘get go’. Scott Keegan improved on his position from Saturday to finish in second position. Despite missing out on the E1 title this year, Keegan can be resolute in the fact that he claimed second in the standings after a very successful year. Mainstay Brad Hardaker on his Yamaha put in yet another impressive ride to finish third. Podium placer Hardaker took 43:48.329 to complete all the tests and finished close to 18 seconds behind Keegan. Recent title winner Wil Ruprecht of the Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team, finished just off the podium in fourth.

Championship Positions:
1. Wil Ruprecht – 232
2. Scott Keegan – 198
3. Jack Simpson – 178

Wil Ruprecht

Daniel Milner achieved the coveted clean sweep of the entire AORC season. Every race has been won by Milner in 2017 and the victory cements his season amongst one the best in the Championship’s history. Milner took 41:08.977 to finish off the year in style. In second position was Active8 Yamaha Yamalube’s Josh Green. After running out of fuel in the late stages of Saturday’s Cross Country race, Green will be pleased to have returned to the podium on Sunday. Green finished close to a minute behind Milner with a 42:07.555. Riley Graham on his Yamaha was the final podium place getter. South Australian Graham, finished a further 26 seconds off Green with a 42:34.515.

Championship Positions:
1. Daniel Milner – 250
2. Riley Graham – 201
3. Josh Green – 194

The E3 heavyweight battle really came to a head between KTM Enduro Team’s Lyndon Snodgrass and Husqvarna Enduro Team‘s Lachy Stanford. In the end, it would be Snodgrass to rise to the occasion and win the coveted E3 title! After taking the win on Saturday, Snodgrass put the pressure on Stanford and it was clear the KTM rider was in the ‘zone’. After amassing a lead up to 140 seconds, Snodgrass was simply too strong on the day with his time of 41:59.693. After such a brilliant season, it was a tough way to lose the championship but Stanford came devastatingly close. Stanford took 44:20.214 to finish the race. The final podium placer was Jesse Lawton. Lawton with his time of 44:42.149, finished 22 seconds behind Stanford.

Snodgrass shared; “I’m very happy to achieve that E3 title! It’s been such a fantastic weekend for the KTM Enduro Team with Milner clinching the E2 championship yesterday and now E3 today. I managed to adapt to the tracks fairly quickly and despite the wet weather and windy conditions, I didn’t let it affect my performance. It’s been such a great and close battle with Lachy (Stanford) all year.”

Championship Positions:
1. Lyndon Snodgrass – 235 (Equal on count back with decision made on winner of last race)
2. Lachy Stanford – 235
3. Tom Mason – 196

Jemma Wilson
After suffering an unfortunate fall on Saturday which delayed Jemma Wilson’s championship win, she finally got the title on Sunday after an impressive victory. Wilson took only 40:31.538 to finish the race. Coming in second would be Emelie Karlsson on her Yamaha. Karlsson finished 75 seconds behind Wilson. The final podium finisher was Tasmanian Sophie Coldicutt, also Yamaha Mounted. Only five seconds separated Karlsson and Coldicutt for the final podium position. Wilson managed to take the championship with a 25 points buffer to Karlsson.

Championship Positions:
1. Jemma Wilson – 234
2. Emelie Karlsson – 209
3. Sophie Coldicutt – 208

Photos: John Pearson Media