Skip to content

Bad starts hinder Jed Beaton’s results at Lommel | News

Factory Husqvarna rider Jed Beaton suffered from bad starts on the sandy Lommel track at the MXGP of Flanders to finish seventh overall.

Not making the best of starts in race one, Jed Beaton placed just inside the top 10 and maintained his position during the early stages of the moto. Finding his flow 20 minutes into the race, he pushed hard and made a number of passes to finish seventh.

Beaton started seventh in Moto 2 and briefly moved up to sixth. However, he would drop one position during the closing laps of the race to finish seventh. Well aware of how brutal the track was, and with two more rounds of the MX2 World Championship set to take place at Lommel in the coming days, he avoided unnecessary risks and claimed seventh overall on the day.

“Not the greatest day but we’re here for two more rounds so it’s a solid start to the week,” said Jed Beaton. “My starts weren’t great in both races, which didn’t help but we’ll be better on Wednesday. It took me a while to get going in race one, by around 20 minutes into the race I found my flow and felt really good, but it was too late to move forwards. Race two I felt good from the start and rode a smart race. I know what to expect for the next two, so we’ll be ready for them and I look forward to Wednesday.”

The Tasmanian is tied for third in the MX2 championship standings with five rounds remaining.

Watch the race highlights from the MXGP of Flanders HERE

MXGP of Flanders – GP Top 10 Classification

1. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 44 points
2. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 43 p.
3. Ben Watson (GBR, YAM), 41 p.
4. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 35 p.
5. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 34 p.
6. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, KAW), 31 p.
7. Jed Beaton (AUS, HUS), 28 p.
8. Isak Gifting (SWE, GAS), 28 p.
9. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, YAM), 23 p.
10. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HON), 23 p.

MX2 – World Championship Top 10 Classification

1. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 569 points
2. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 516 p.
3. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 407 p.
4. Jed Beaton (AUS, HUS), 407 p.
5. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 381 p.
6. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, KAW), 357 p.
7. Ben Watson (GBR, YAM), 355 p.
8. Conrad Mewse (GBR, KTM), 287 p.
9. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, YAM), 249 p.
10. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, KAW), 234 p.