Skip to content

Cairoli Grabs The Win at MXGP of Lombardia | Latest

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli and Suzuki World MX2’s Jeremy Seewer took overall victories at the MXGP of Lombardia over the weekend.

Home GP wins are rewarding for a rider but even more so when it comes in the most difficult of conditions. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli has now won 2 of 2 Italian GPs and he did so in style.

Cairoli started the day by winning race 1 by 18 seconds ahead of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing teammate Jeffrey Herlings. Herlings closed on Cairoli early in the race and attempted to make a pass on the Italian but it would not suffice. Cairoli, feeling the pressure responded and left Herlings to battle with the heat on the way to second.

In race 2 the story was similar but Herlings in his first pass attempt made it by the #222 but only momentarily. Cairoli, after passing Herlings back faced another charge and this time a mistake allowed Herlings into the lead on lap 4.

Herlings then opened up a 4 second gap but the heat combined with the energy of battling again slowed Herlings. On lap 10 Cairoli charged his way past to secure his 81st career overall. Cairoli in the press conference said: “I did my best, I gave 100%, everything I had, and we had a good race. I’m happy to see all the people who came to support me and even after 14 years people still come to see me, it’s amazing. I am happy that I have a lot of fans and that motocross is growing in Italy because that is what we are working for. I had the “Sand King” behind me and we tried to keep him there, maybe he was faster in some places than me, but we race 35 minutes and in the end I beat him.”


While many riders tried to conserve energy in race 1 Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Anstie had no option but fight hard through the field after getting stuck in the gate. Anstie came from the dead last start to finish a remarkable 5th. After the strong effort in race 1 Anstie needed a better start in race 2. The Brit crossed the finish line 4 after the first lap but about halfway into the race passed for 3rd. The combination of 5th and 3rd put Anstie 3rd overall in what would be his first ever MXGP podium finish. Anstie in the press conference said: “It’s awesome, it’s amazing, I’ve been dreaming of this for a long time, it’s different in MX2 and you know it’s tough, these guys are so fast. It’s awesome to get my first podium and have Tony there in Italy, the fans are crazy. It’s awesome to stand up there alongside him (Cairoli), I have a lot of respect for all of these guys!”

Team HRC’s Tim Gajser finished 10th overall in his return from injury. The 2016 champion did however run as high as 4th in race 1 before falling and taking tenth.


MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 44 p.
3. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 36 p.
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 33 p.
5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 32 p.
6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 31 p.
7. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 27 p.
8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 25 p.
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 23 p.
10. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 21 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 431 points
2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 364 p.
3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 361 p.
4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 335 p.
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 282 p.

MX2 Overall Top Ten:
1. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 47 points
2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 40 p.
3. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 38 p.
4. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 36 p.
5. Bas Vaessen (NED, SUZ), 32 p.
6. Julien Lieber (BEL, KTM), 31 p.
7. Alvin Östlund (SWE, YAM), 29 p.
8. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 28 p.
9. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 26 p.
10. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 21 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten:
1. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 454 points
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 416 p.
3. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 343 p.
4. Julien Lieber (BEL, KTM), 339 p.
5. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 330 p.
6. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 263 p.
7. Jorge Prado Garcia (ESP, KTM), 233 p.
8. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 212 p.
9. Hunter Lawrence (AUS, SUZ), 199 p.
10. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 195 p.