Skip to content

Ferris collects first ever MX1 title | Latest

This year’s 2016 Thor MX1 Champion was crowned yesterday at Coolum, with CDR Yamaha’s Dean Ferris managing to fight off his competitors to clinch the title at Round 10 of the Motul MX Nationals.

After qualifying fastest on Saturday, Ferris opted to hit the track first for Superpole and when he’d put down his flying lap, a 1:45.287 was enough to secure the three crucial championship points, and take the the GoPro Superpole victory.

Suzuki’s Todd Waters was the second quickest followed by Kade Mosig. Unfortunately for KTM’s Kirk Gibbs, he fourth and lost out on any additional points, seeing his championship lead over Ferris dwindle to only three points.

When gates dropped, it was KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs who took the first MXStore holeshot, but after only one lap, CDR Yamaha’s Ferris had taken control of race one.

After two laps, Waters had found his way in to second position, whilst red plate holder Gibbs had slipped back to third. National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki duo Kyle Peters and Mosig were back in fourth and fifth places followed by DPH Motorsport’s Jacob Wright.

But it was heading in to lap three that spectators were treated to a battle for the race lead, with Suzuki’s Waters making the move on CDR Yamaha’s Ferris, relegating the title hopeful to second position.

And the fight for positions did not stop there. Gibbs also began to come under fire from National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Peters for third place, the two going head to head for the final podium position. And by the time riders headed in to lap seven, Peters had got the job done.

In what was a huge shock to onlookers, Ferris received a ten second penalty at the five lap mark after riding inside a marker during lap one, but it didn’t seem to phase the Yamaha rider, because only a few turns later, Ferris had reclaimed the race lead.

Despite being out in front, by the time rider’s reached the halfway mark, Waters was effectively in the lead due to the penalty applied to Ferris, American import Peters was in third, followed by defending champ Gibbs who continued in fourth position. Mosig, Hamish Harwood and Crankt Protein Honda Racing Team’s Jay Wilson all occupied positions fifth through to seventh.

But with less than ten minutes remaining, Ferris checked out, leaving Waters, Peters and Gibbs well and truly behind him – putting himself in the box seat to wrap up moto one as the new championship leader.

And when the chequered flag flew, Ferris got the job done, taking the opening moto win ahead of Waters who crossed the line in second. American Peters wrapped up the opening race in third, followed by Gibbs whose title hopes were hurt during race one after finishing in fourth.

Mosig, Hamish Harwood, Wilson, Long, Craig Bolton and Daniel Banks all wrapped up moto one inside the top ten.

With a 2016 Thor MX1 title up for grabs, and Ferris entering the final race with a four-point lead over Gibbs, fans were treated when bikes lined up for the last moto -with both riders putting in one last fight for this year’s championship.

When gates dropped, Gibbs once again got the jump off the start and secured the final MXStore holeshot, however Waters was right on his rear wheel, followed by Ferris, setting up the final race as one of the best of the season!

After two laps, the running order saw Gibbs out in front with a marginal gap over Waters, while points leader Ferris continued to lurk in the background in third position, followed by Kawasaki duo Mosig and Peters.

Despite Gibbs being out in front, Ferris made the pass on Waters during lap three, putting the CDR Yamaha rider in second place, and in the perfect position to take the title – making for nail biting racing for the final moto of the day.

With more than half the race remaining, Gibbs began to feel the pressure of both Ferris and Waters who had both closed in on the KTM rider over the past two laps, treating spectators to the fight they’d been waiting for.

But with Gibbs, Ferris, and Waters all within striking distance of each other out in front, by the time riders headed in to lap nine, the action on track really heated up. Waters found incredible energy and within only a few turns had passed both Gibbs and Ferris.

And the fight for positions did not stop there. With Waters increasing his lead to five seconds, Ferris closed in on defending champion Gibbs, and with four minutes remaining, Ferris made the pass for second position.

By the time the Thor MX1 class received the last lap board, Ferris was in the box seat to clinch the 2016 title after ten gruelling rounds.

And despite Waters taking the final race victory of the day, it was Ferris who had reason to celebrate – the CDR Yamaha crossing the line in second position in the final moto and securing the 2016 Thor MX1 Championship honours. Third place in race two was taken by Gibbs followed by Mosig in fourth.

With 2,1 results Wilson Coolair Motul Factory Suzuki’s Waters secured the round victory from Ferris and Gibbs, but the man of the moment was CDR Yamaha rider Ferris, who despite being the only rider to register a DNF this year, collected the Thor MX1 Championship at Coolum.

Dean Ferris – CDR Yamaha – 2016 Thor MX1 Championship Winner

“I’m so stoked to have gotten this championship. After Round 5 this year I knew it was going to be tough, but the whole team believed in me, and I believed in myself,” Ferris shared.

“I’ve had a lot of speed on the track this year and I just needed to work out how to be consistent like Kirk Gibbs, and that’s what I did. I wasn’t outside the top two after Wanneroo.”

“This is actually the first championship I’ve ever won. I’m 26, and honestly I thought I was going to do this eight years ago, but I didn’t. I’ve had some really good results over the years but this is the first title so I’m absolutely ecstatic.”

Thor MX1 round ten results

1) Todd Waters – 67 points
2) Dean Ferris – 67 points
3) Kirk Gibbs – 58 points
4) Kade Mosig – 54 points
5) Dylan Long – 49 points
6) Jay Wilson – 49 points
7) Hamish Harwood – 49 points
8) Luke Wilson – 42 points
9) James Alen – 39 points
10) Daniel Banks – 39 points

Thor MX1 Championship

1) Dean Ferris – 666 points
2) Kirk Gibbs – 660 points
3) Todd Waters – 647 points
4) Kade Mosig – 541 points
5) Dylan Long – 460 points
6) Jay Wilson – 417 points
7) Jacob Wright – 403 points
8) Matt Moss – 381 points
9) Michael Menchi– 376 points
10) Daniel Banks – 374 points