Skip to content

Crawford claims championship lead with Pirelli MX2 win | News

Serco Yamaha’s new recruit Nathan Crawford has stormed to the top of the Pirelli MX2 championship standings with an impressive double-moto victory around the hard-packed Appin circuit.

Crawford claimed both moto wins by more than eight seconds to stand atop the podium, flanked by Jay Wilson (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and Serco Yamaha teammate Wilson Todd. Former red-plate holder Aaron Tanti (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing) finished the day in eighth overall.

In the opening Pirelli MX2 race Crawford was in blistering form as he worked his way through the field to pass long-time race leader Wilson for the victory. Local racer Dylan Wills (DPH Motorsports Husqvarna) finished the moto in third, with Tanti fourth, narrowly ahead of CRF Penrite Honda Racing’s Jackson Richardson.

When the gates dropped on the second race of the day, Wilson again leapt to the front of the pack, but was soon dispatched of by Crawford. Crawford wasn’t headed for the rest of the moto, with teammate Todd second and Wilson third. Honda pairing Jackson Richardson and Kyle Webster finished fourth and fifth respectively.

1. Nathan Crawford (Yamaha) 70
2. Jay Wilson (Yamaha) 62
3. Wilson Todd (Yamaha) 57
4. Jackson Richardson (Honda) 54
5. Dylan Wills (Husqvarna) 53
6. Egan Mastin (KTM) 49
7. Kyle Webster (Honda) 48
8. Aaron Tanti (Kawasaki) 45
9. Kale Makeham (Yamaha) 42
10. Hamish Harwood (KTM) 42