Skip to content

Day 1 – 2016 Australian Junior Moto X Nationals | Latest

The first finals got underway at the Riverland Junior Motorcycle Club for the 2016 KTM Australian Junior Motocross Championships yesterday.

It was Mason Semmens, Tahlia O’Hare, Bailey Malkiewicz and Zachary Watson taking the first finals victories.

128-150cc/200-250cc 13-U15 Years

The 128-150cc/200-250cc 13-U15 Years category were the first finals race. Fastest qualifier Mason Semmens (KTM Racing Team) launched in to the early race lead, followed by Rhys Budd and Korey McMahon.

From there, Semmens and Budd checked out on the field, putting a whopping 13 seconds between themselves and third placed McMahon.

And when the chequered flag flew, it was Semmens who collected his first finals victory from Budd and Duffy in second and third, followed by Bova and McMahon in fourth and fifth places respectively.

85cc/150cc 12-U16 Years Female

After a small pile up just after the first turn it was Husqvarna mounted Tanesha Harnett who took control of the race, however Madison Healey and Tahlia O’Hare were hot on her tail in second and third positions.

With ten minutes on the clock for the 85cc females, Healey passed Harnett for the lead, but the battle for the top spot did not stop there – by lap three, O’Hare had made her way in to the lead position, while Harnett dropped back to fourth place.

At the finish, O’Hare took her first finals race victory from Healey in second, while Ebony Harris snatched up third. Despite leading for a period of time, Harnett crossed the line in fifth position behind Kara Cats.

85cc/150cc 14-U16 Years

Bailey Malkiewicz began to separate himself from the talented field of riders after only one lap, while behind him New South Welshman John Bova continued to maintain second position ahead of KTM rider Michael Murphy.

As the first race for the 85cc/150cc 14-U16 Years class reached it’s closing stages no one was able to get close to Malkiewicz’s undeniable speed. It was in the top position that the Husqvarna rider stayed. Second place was secured by Bova, while Darby wrapped up his first final for the event in third position. Murphy crossed the finish line in fourth followed by Ryan Morgan in fifth position.

65cc 11 Years

When racing commenced it was number on qualifier Zachary Watson who after one lap had established himself as the race leader, while Jackson Camilleri and Ryan Alexanderson occupied second and third positions.

With an Australian title on their minds, the top four riders began to check out, Watson leading the way from Camilleri, Alexanderson and Deegan Mancinelli, who had joined the party in fourth.

But when the last lap board was shown and then the chequered flag was displayed it was Watson who crossed the line with the first 65cc 11 years’ finals victory. Second was snatched up by Camilleri, while Alexanderson held on to finish in third position. Myles Gilmore wrapped up his first finals race today in fourth, followed by Mancinelli who dropped back to fifth position by the conclusion of the moto.

Photo: Craig Wasley