Skip to content

Dean Ferris wins Appin MX Nationals | News

CDR Yamaha's Dean Ferris claimed the MX1 win in Round 2 of the MX Nationals at Appin.

CDR Yamaha’s Dean Ferris has fought his way to the championship lead in the premier MX1 division after round two of the MX Nationals was concluded yesterday at Appin Raceway, near Sydney.

Ferris entered the round in third place but ruing some costly mistakes at round one and was determined to make amends at Appin. His day started promisingly when he posted the second fastest lap in the Go Pro Superpole and was ready to rumble when the gate dropped in moto one.

When the gate dropped for Moto One, it was Ferris who got the jump and claimed the holeshot ahead of Factory Suzuki’s Todd Waters and Kawasaki’s Matt Moss. A tough battled followed with the top three riders staying within arms reach of each other until Waters took over the lead and gapped three seconds on the field.

KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs moved up to second and put the pressure on Waters and would eventually claim the lead, but in the closing moments of the race Ferris came through to take the win.

In Moto Two, Moss was the early leader ahead of Husqvarna rider Brett Metcalfe in second and Ferris in third. Moss looked strong to take the moto win but unfortunately crashed out handing over the lead to Metcalfe who would go on to win the Moto ahead of Waters in second and Ferris in third.

With a 1-3 finish, Ferris claimed the round overall win ahead of Metcalfe and Waters. Ferris leads the MX1 Championship Standings going into Round 3 at Broadford.
Round Two Results – Appin


1st Dean Ferris – 65 (CDR Yamaha)
2nd Brett Metcalfe – 63
3rd Todd Waters -62
4th Kirk Gibbs – 60
5th Matt Moss – 52
6th Dan Reardon -49 (CDR Yamaha)
7th Kade Mosig -48
8th Jacob Wright -45
9th Dylan Long -44
10th Jay Wilson -43

Championship Standings – After Round Two

1st Dean Ferris – 127 (YZ450F)
2nd Kirk Gibbbs – 125
3rd Todd Waters – 119
4th Matt Moss – 117
5th Brett Metcalfe – 115
6th Kade Mosig – 104
7th Dan Reardon – 99 (YZ450F)
8th Dylan Long – 92
9th Jay Wilson – 86
10th Kurt Wightman – 69