Skip to content

Dean Ferris claims Nowra victory | Latest

CDR Yamaha rider Dean Ferris has raced to a round six win, edging out local favourite Matt Moss at the official Military round of the Motul MX Nationals, at the Nowra Motoplex in New South Wales.

With round six kicking off in close to perfect conditions, the premier Thor MX1 class had their first hit out since returning from the mid-season break. In the morning’s GoPro Superpole, CDR Yamaha’s Ferris would take the first pick of the MX1 grid, while Crankt Protein Honda Racing Team’s Dylan Long finished Superpole in second, ahead of National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Kade Mosig who qualified third fastest.

Series points leader Kirk Gibbs was unable to finish the qualifying session and was forced to enter the pits assisted by Racesafe. Despite this the KTM rider still lined up race one and got a perfect jump and secured the MXStore holeshot before moving in to the early race lead.

Followed closely behind Gibbs was local Nowra rider Moss, by lap three it was Moss made on Gibbs and gained control of moto one.

With Moss out in front, Gibbs slid back to second place, followed by Ferris who maintained third. Mosig and Wilson Coolair Motul Factory Suzuki rider Todd Waters were locked in to their own battle for fourth position, just a bikes length back from the lead group.

After ten minutes Moss had stretched out a four second lead, leaving Gibbs, Ferris, Waters, and Mosig to battle for the remaining top spots behind him. And battle they did. By the time riders reached lap nine, spectators were treated to a three-way battle for second position, with Ferris, Gibbs and Waters all exiting turn one bar to bar – but it was Ferris who made the pass stick, moving in to second place followed by Waters, while Gibbs went down however recovered to resume in fifth behind Mosig.

As moto one reached its final stages, there was little change to the race order – Moss continuing to look comfortable out in front, while Ferris and Waters occupied second and third positions respectively.
And when the chequered flag flew, Moss’s dominating form saw him awarded with the moto one win, followed by Ferris and Mosig who wrapped up race one in second and third places respectively.

Gibbs concluded the first race of the day in fourth place, while Waters who had battled for a podium position throughout the moto, finished in fifth after what appeared to be bike issues on the last two laps. Crankt Protein Honda Racing Team’s Jay Wilson finished in sixth, followed by DPH Motorsport’s Jacob Wright (7th) and Long who finished in eighth.

In moto two, Moss wasted no time in getting to the race lead, taking the MX1 holeshot for the day – but when riders headed on to their second lap, it was Ferris who had taken control from Moss, followed by Gibbs in third position.
Moss was not prepared to go down without a fight – and with only one more lap in the books, Moss had snatched back the race lead, setting up the final moto as dash to the finish line.
After five laps, Moss began to stretch out his gap on Ferris, allowing the Kawasaki rider some much needed breathing space. And by the half way point in the race, there had been no change to the top three positions, Moss continuing to lead from Ferris, followed by Gibbs in third. Suzuki mounted Waters held down fourth position, followed by Long (Honda) who completed the top five standings.

Just as Moss looked set to claim his second win of the day a small crash on the second last lap handed the lead to Ferris – Moss then forced to chase down the CDR Yamaha rider if he was to go undefeated.

Despite every effort from Moss, time simply ran out, and when the chequered flag flew for the final time, it was Ferris who took the final race win for the day by the narrowest of margins, while Moss was forced to settle for second position. Gibbs concluded the final moto of the day in third, followed by Waters and Long who completed the top five.

When points were tallied, despite Ferris and Moss finishing equal on 67 points, Ferris’ win in the final race of the day saw him awarded with the round six overall win on a countback, while National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Moss wrapped up the day in second, and Gibbs concluded the round in third overall. Gibbs now holds on to the red plate by 15 points.

Thor MX1 round six results

1) Dean Ferris – 67 points
2) Matt Moss – 67 points
3) Kirk Gibbs – 58 points
4) Kade Mosig – 55 points
5) Todd Waters – 54 points
6) Dylan Long – 49 points
7) Jacob Wright – 48 points
8) Corey James – 45 points
9) Craig Anderson – 43 points
10) Kurt Gow – 41 points

Thor MX1 Championship Standings

1) Kirk Gibbs – 409 points
2) Dean Ferris – 394 points
3) Todd Waters – 388 points
4) Matt Moss – 381 points
5) Kade Mosig – 323 points
6) Dylan Long – 309 points
7) Jay Wilson – 246 points
8) Jacob Wright – 241 points
9) Brett Metcalfe– 225 points
10) Michael Menchi – 223 points