Skip to content

KOREY MCMAHON PODIUMS AT RD 1 & 2 OF THE AORC | Latest | News | Race Reports

GASGAS rider Korey McMahon has kicked off his 2024 AORC secured podium finishes in the E1 at the first two rounds.

GASGAS racer Korey McMahon has started his 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) season strongly with a pair of E1 class podium results in rounds one and two of the season in Roma, Queensland.
Having missed out on the title last year by the narrowest of margins and just returning to racing from a shoulder reconstruction, the 24-year-old was hungry to get this year’s campaign off to the best-possible start.

Saturday saw McMahon and his 2024 GASGAS EC 250F make short work of the dusty tests through trees, fields and riverbeds to finish a hard-fought third, just three seconds behind P2.

Determined to improve on his round one result, McMahon again laid down fast times on Sunday’s special tests. As the temperature soared into the mid-30s, he continued to tweak his bike settings throughout the day, with the improvements seeing him finish strongly and seal P2 in the final test of the weekend.

Rounds three and four of the new AORC season are scheduled for April 20-21 at Mount Misery in Victoria.

Korey McMahon: “I’m just coming back from a shoulder reconstruction and haven’t had enough time to get 100 percent used to the new chassis on my EC 250F, so as a result, this weekend became a bit of a learning weekend for us. While the results are a bit frustrating, we learned a lot and improved the bike settings as the weekend went on. Considering I’ve been off the bike for two and a half months, I can’t complain about being second in the championship and to be near the podium overall as well. We’ll go to Victoria now and do some more testing, learn more about the bike, and get ourselves ready for Mount Misery next month!”

2024 Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) – Roma, QLD

Round one results:
1. Kyron Bacon (Yamaha)
2. Cooper Sheidow (Yamaha)
3. Korey McMahon (GASGAS)
4. Tom Buxton (KTM)
5. Will Price (Kawasaki)

Round two results:
1. Kyron Bacon (Yamaha)
2. Korey McMahon (GASGAS)
3. Tom Buxton (KTM)
4. Cooper Sheidow (Yamaha)
5. Will Price (Kawasaki)