Skip to content

Max Nagl wins Czech Republic MXGP | Latest

Claiming two race wins at a slippery and challenging Loket track, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl has clinched his first overall victory of 2016 at the GP of the Czech Republic.


Current MXGP Championship points leader Tim Gajser finished second aboard his Honda Gariboldi machine while Monster Energy Yamaha’s Romain Febvre rounded out the top three.

Round 13 of the FIM Motocross World Championship couldn’t have gone a lot better for Nagal. After firing from the start in the opening MXGP moto, the FC 450 mounted rider found himself in second and closely following Gautier Paulin at the end of lap one. Making a successful move for the lead on lap two, Nagl remained out front for the remainder of the race before eventually claiming victory.

The German star had to dig deep as rain came into play in the second moto. Again producing a great start, he found himself in third place at the end of lap one. Passing Jose Butron for second on lap two, Nagl spent the next twelve laps following race leader Tim Gajser in second. Capitalising on a mistake by the Slovenian, Nagl took the lead with six laps to go and never looked back.

With changing track conditions ensuring a notably difficult GP of the Czech Republic, Nagl topped the MXGP class overall podium for the first time this season. His result also signified an important moment for Husqvarna, as it was the brand’s first victory at the Loket track.


Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Dylan Ferrandis hit a career milestone with his first ever double moto victory.

With Jeffrey Herlings still out with a broken collar bone, Ferrandis capitalised on the Dutch riders absence and gained valuable championship points. Still, even if Herlings was racing, Ferrandis still would have had a decent amount of fans picking him for the win based on his hard-pack skill. The Kawasaki rider rode silky smooth for the win in race one but had to work a little harder in race two with a fired up Max Anstie breathing down his neck. Despite the intense challenge, Ferrandis managed to stay cool and rode it home for his first ever double moto victory.

Team Suzuki World MX2’s Jeremy Seewer did what he needed to do. He kept it on two wheels and didn’t do anything silly which landed him on the second step of the podium. “I’m disappointed with my day, Max and Dylan had a little bit more than me today, so that was disappointing but I am looking forward to the sand next weekend.” He said.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Anstie finally came out of his shell this weekend and managed to string together two solid results for his second podium appearance this season. If it wasn’t in Anstie’s pedigree to crash, he could have topped the box today; after all he did set the fastest lap time in the final race before crashing on the penultimate lap when he caught his handlebar on Ferrandis while trying to pass. “I had to try,” Anstie said, “it’s just the way it goes but I am really happy with the weekend, it was a really good race, it’s good to put in a solid result.”

The Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing team will return to action at round 14 of the FIM Motocross World Championship in Lommel, Belgium on July 30/31.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 50 points;
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 44 p.;
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 40 p.;
4. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 34 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 34 p.;
6. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 28 p.;
7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 27 p.;
8. Tommy Searle (GBR, KAW), 24 p.;
9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 23 p.;
10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 20 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 576 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 467 p.;
3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 451 p.;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 448 p.;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 419 p.;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 385 p.;
7. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 286 p.;
8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 248 p.;
9. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 244 p.;
10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 225 p.

MX2 Overall Top Ten:
1. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 50 points;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 42 p.;
3. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 42 p.;
4. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 34 p.;
5. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 29 p.;
6. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 29 p.;
7. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), 26 p.;
8. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 24 p.;
9. Conrad Mewse (GBR, HUS), 24 p.;
10. Adam Sterry (GBR, KTM), 18 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten:
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 597 points;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 470 p.;
3. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 403 p.;
4. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 359 p.;
5. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 358 p.;
6. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, YAM), 320 p.;
7. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 316 p.;
8. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 282 p.;
9. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), 279 p.;
10. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 246 p.