Skip to content

Paulin and Jonas Dominate In The Sand | Latest

The FIM Motocross World Championship raced at Valkenswaard where Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Gautier Paulin and Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Pauls Jonass claimed victory.

This weekend belongs to Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Gautier Paulin who won the first Race after grabbing the important Fox Holeshot and leading the entire time. It was the first race victory for Paulin since Teutschental 2015.


In race 2 Paulin finished second securing the overall, 2 years after doing the same here in 2015, it was the first Valkenswaard overall for Husqvarna in history. Paulin in the press conference said, “Being back on the podium and on the first step feels really good, it has been over a year. It is great to be racing like this, the ride with Jeffrey was awesome! The Dutch fans were cheering for Jeffrey so hard and I felt the track was getting smaller, I was really pushing hard to keep him from passing me. I will have good memories from today!”

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings had his best result of the season today when he scored second overall. The Dutch rider had fought his way through both races, where he didn’t have the starts he’d hoped for. Herlings during the press conference said, “In MXGP it is like all out war from the moment the gate drops until the finish flag and that’s something I’m not used to, but we will get there. We are getting the speed and I think there is one thing left and that’s the starts. I felt like I was close today, I was really close to the win and that’s good.”

Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jeremy Van Horebeek scored his second podium of the season today with 3rd overall. “It’s been a really good weekend…I think that the fans enjoyed our racing and it’s a tough class, we have to fight for every position. I’m really happy to be on the podium and be consistent every weekend,” Said Horebeek.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli had a bad start in race 1, he was 14th on lap one. Cairoli consistently worked his forward over the first few laps before settling into 9th. For race 2 he started with the Fox Holeshot and he returned to winning form. Cairoli finished 4th overall and continues to narrow the points gap, he is now 14 points behind in the championship.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 47 points;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 40 p.;
3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 38 p.;
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 37 p.;
5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 33 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 234 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 220 p.;
3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 192 p.;
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 182 p.;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 176 p.;
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 172 p.;
7. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 131 p.;
8. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 124 p.;
9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 120 p.;
10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 116 p.

In MX2 class Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Pauls Jonass completed the perfect weekend again this season going pole in Saturday’s qualifying race and following it up with 2 race wins.

Suzuki World MX2’s Hunter Lawerence had a breakthrough performance in race 2 finishing fifth, that together with the Australian’s 10th in race 1 got him a 6th overall.

Hunter Lawrence

Hunter Lawrence

MX2 Overall Top Ten:
1. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 50 points;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 40 p.;
3. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 36 p.;
4. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 30 p.;
5. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM), 29 p.;
6. Hunter Lawrence (AUS, SUZ), 27 p.;
7. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 26 p.;
8. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 22 p.;
9. Julien Lieber (BEL, KTM), 22 p.;
10. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 20 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten:
1. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 242 points;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 223 p.;
3. Julien Lieber (BEL, KTM), 197 p.;
. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 188 p.;
5. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 173 p.;
6. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 159 p.;
7. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 133 p.;
8. Vsevolod Brylyakov (RUS, KAW), 123 p.;
9. Jorge Prado Garcia (ESP, KTM), 121 p.;
10. Michele Cervellin (ITA, HON), 109 p.