Skip to content

RedBud National stats and facts | Latest

2016 marks the 43rd running of the RedBud National, which was first contested in 1974. RedBud is home to one of the most iconic obstacles in American motocross – Larocco’s Leap.

Named for Hall of Famer and local hero Mike LaRocco, this 120-foot uphill triple jump has thrilled fans and challenged riders for over two decades.

RedBud’s distinction as the sport’s Independence Day celebration has been a tradition that dates back to 1978. Since 1974, there have been only five international winners at RedBud across both classes – Grant Langston, Chad Reed, Ken Roczen, Stephane Roncada, and Sebastien Tortelli. Roczen is the only one to win in both classes.

Redbud National 450 Class Stats

2015 Overall Podium:
1. Justin Barcia
2. Ryan Dungey
3. Ken Roczen

  • The first Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship race held at RedBud was April 28, 1974. Kenny Zahrt won on a Bultaco, marking the last Pro Motocross win for that manufacturer.
  • This marks the 35th time the gate will drop for a 450 Class race at RedBud.
  • Marty Tripes earned his last Pro Motocross win at RedBud in 1979.
  • Jeff Ward is the only rider in RedBud history to win in three classes – 125cc in 1984, 250cc in 1990, and 500cc 1988. All were aboard a Kawasaki.
  • Jeff Stanton is the only Michigan native to win in the 450 Class at RedBud.
  • Ricky Carmichael’s seven RedBud wins came consecutively from ‘01-’07. He won aboard three different brands – Kawasaki, Honda and Suzuki.
  • Only five riders have earned more than one win at RedBud – Ricky Carmichael, Ryan Dungey, Jeff Emig, Rick Johnson, and Mike Kiedrowski.
  • There have been only three international winners at Redbud in the 450 Class.
  • The last repeat winner at RedBud was Carmichael in ‘06-‘07. Ryan Dungey is the only rider to earn multiple RedBud victories since 2008.

All-Time Wins at RedBud (Total Wins)
Ricky Carmichael (7)
Mike Kiedrowski (3)
Ryan Dungey (2)
Jeff Emig (2)
Rick Johnson (2)

All-Time Wins by Brand at RedBud (Last Win)
Honda: 11 (2011)
Kawasaki: 9 (2013)
Suzuki: 6 (2010
Yamaha: 6 (2015)
KTM: 2 (2014)
Bultaco: 1 (1974)

250 Class Stats

2015 Overall Podium
1. Jeremy Martin
2. Zach Osborne
3. Cooper Webb

  • There have been more 250 Class races than 450 Class races at RedBud.
  • The first 250 Class race held at RedBud was May 23, 1976. Bob Hannah won on a Yamaha.This race marks the 36th time the gate will drop at RedBud for a 250 Class race.
  • Only eight riders in 36 seasons of 250 Class competition have won more than one race at RedBud.
  • Jeremy Martin will look to become the third rider in history to win three straight RedBud Nationals.

All-Time Wins at RedBud (Total Wins)
Jeff Emig (3)
Ryan Villopoto (3)
Blake Baggett (2)
Mark Barnett (2)
Ricky Carmichael (2)
Guy Cooper (2)
Micky Dymond (2)
Steve Lamson (2)
Jeremy Martin (2)
James Stewart (2)

All-Time Wins by Brand at RedBud (Last Win)
Kawasaki: 12 (2012)
Yamaha: 10 (2015)
Honda: 9 (2010)
Suzuki: 3 (1990)
KTM: 1 (2013)

RedBud Trackmap