Skip to content

Sixth Overall for Mitch Evans at MXGP of Emilia-Romagna | News

Team HRC rider Mitch Evans continued his improvement by getting sixth overall, including another impressive fourth in the first moto at the MXGP of Emilia-Romagna.

Coming into this triple-header, Evans had the goal of improving at each round and that is exactly what the Queenslander achieved, going four-eight for sixth overall, which followed on from his eighth on Sunday and his seventh on Wednesday. With a couple more weeks of training under his belt, and with the series heading to Mantova, a track where Mitch Evans won the Internazionali d’Italia in pre-season, he’ll be expecting to keep this momentum going for what is another triple-header of racing, beginning on Sunday 27 September.

“I had another good day again and we’re still improving with sixth overall today,” said Mitch Evans. “It’s been better each time so I’m happy with that. The first moto I didn’t get that great of a start and pushed really hard to come back to fourth so it was a good moto but I pretty much used all of my energy in that one. In the second moto I had a really good start, almost grabbing the holeshot but I had nothing left in the tank so it was just survival mode after that, with me holding on as best I could. I’m happy that I was still able to keep improving and stay healthy and be moving onto the next GP in a couple of weeks at a track I really like.”

Team 114 Honda rider Nathan Crawford and Bailey Malkiewicz finished 11th and 17th overall, respectively.

MXGP – GP Top 10 Classification
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 points
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 41 p.
3. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 40 p.
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 38 p.
5. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 31 p.
6. Mitchell Evans (AUS, HON), 31 p.
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 29 p.
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 26 p.
9. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, YAM), 25 p.
10. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 23 p.

MXGP – World Championship Top 10 Classification:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 285 points
2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 278 p.
3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 263 p.
4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 255 p.
5. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 237 p.
6. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 233 p.
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GAS), 233 p.
8. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 203 p.
9. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 201 p.
10. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 194 p.