Skip to content

Team Netherlands claims MXoN victory | News

Team Netherlands went into the 73rd Monster Energy Motocross of Nations as heavy favourites and came out with their first-ever victory.

Riders Glenn Coldenhoff, Jeffrey Herlings and Calvin Vlaanderen dominated the rest of the teams in less than ideal conditions after rain continually soaked the Assen circuit.

Team Netherlands’ Coldenhoff with a 1-1 score for the second year running, Herlings with 2-4 and Vlaanderen with 10-10 that saw them cruise to their win with 18 points (taking out the worst score of 10th).

Second overall was Team Belgium as Jeremy Van Horebeek, Kevin Strijbos and Jago Geerts were consistent enough for yet another podium with 47 points, and third overall was Team Great Britain with Shaun Simpson, Nathan Watson and Adam Sterry on 58 points.

Overall class winners were Team Slovenian’s Tim Gajser in the MXGP class with 1-2, Team Denmark’s Thomas Kjer Olsen in the MX2 class with 8-8 and Team Netherlands’ Glenn Coldenhoff in the Open class with his 1-1.

Team Australia finished 15th overall on 93 points. Regan Duffy was the team’s strongest performer finishing 11th in Race 1. Unfortunately, a mechanical issue towards the end of Race 3 forced him to retire early. Kyle Webster placed 14th and 23rd while Dean Ferris place 15th in Race 1 and 30th in Race 3 after suffering mechanical troubles towards the end of the race.

Nations Classification
1. Team Netherlands 18 points
2. Team Belgium 47 points
3. Team Great Britain 58 points
4. Team Estonia 64 points
5. Team France 68 points
6. Team USA 68 points
7. Team Germany 72 points
8. Team Latvia 73 points
9. Team Spain 73 points
10. Team Denmark 77 points