Skip to content

Toby Price fourth overall after Dakar Rally Stage 4 | News

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Toby Price posted the sixth-fastest time in Stage 4 of Dakar Rally and has climbed to fourth in the overall ranking.

Following the shortened stage three, day four of the 2020 Dakar Rally saw riders leave Neom and head east to Al-‘Ula. Racing over fast, rock-strewn tracks, riders had to focus intently on their road books to avoid mistakes. With the most challenging terrain and navigation found during the last 50 kilometres, the stage was a true test of endurance for the competitors, who raced for close to four and a half hours.

Putting in a consistent pace throughout today’s stage, Price finished in sixth position, just less than three minutes behind the day’s winner, Honda’s Jose Ignacio Cornejo. Fourth overall going into stage five, Price will enjoy a strong start position tomorrow and aims to chase down the riders ahead.

“It’s been a good solid day’s riding for me, I made a few mistakes but nothing major,” said Price. “I don’t want to bash myself up or bend the bike so I’ve just tried to ride consistently and stay in touch with the other guys. We’re still in contention and there’s still a long way to go.”

Yamaha rider Rod Faggotter finished 18th fastest in the Stage and sits 17th overall. Ben Young put in a strong performance on Stage 4 and placed 64th, which moved him up to 76th overall. Countryman Trevor Wilson came in 92nd for the stage and is now 97th overall. Matthew Tisdal is 120th overall after placing 120th in the stage.

Full Results Click HERE.

Provisional Results Stage Four – 2020 Dakar Rally

1. Jose Ignacio Cornejo (CHL), Honda, 4:24:51
2. Kevin Benavides (ARG), Honda, 4:25:26 +35 seconds
3. Ross Branch (BWA), KTM, 4:25:46 +55 seconds
4. Paulo Goncalves (POR), Hero, 4:27:02 +2:11
5. Ricky Brabec (USA), Honda, 4:27:39 +2.48
6. Toby Price (AUS), KTM, 4:27:50 +2:59

Provisional Standings (after stage four) – 2020 Dakar Rally

1. Ricky Brabec (USA), Honda, 15:06:43
2. Kevin Benavides (ARG), Honda, 15:09:13 +2:30
3. Jose Ignacio Cornejo (CHL), Honda, 15:15:14 +8:31
4. Toby Price (AUS), KTM, 15:18:52 +12:09
5. Pablo Quintanilla (CHL), Husqvarna, 15:24:35 +17:52