Skip to content

Unadilla National Stats & Facts | Latest

Unadilla was a part of the inaugural Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship in 1972 and even predates the series with more than 45 years of history dating back to 1969.

With its iconic natural rolling layout through the valley, the Unadilla National has brought some of the most uniquely named obstacles in the country like Gravity Cavity, The Wall, and Skyshot.
Unadilla’s legacy beyond Pro Motocross includes Inter-Am events, Trans-Am events, and USGPs in the 70’s and 80’s. The track hosted five 500cc nationals between 1976 and 1991 and was the site of the first Motocross of Nations on U.S. soil in 1987.
The “Euro-style” layout of Unadilla has ultimately resulted in a total of 10 different international winners at the track (including the 450 Class, 250 Class, and 500cc), which is the most of any track in Pro Motocross history.

450 Class Stats

2015 Overall Podium
1. Ryan Dungey
2. Justin Barcia
3. Trey Canard

• The first 450 Class race held at Unadilla was July 16, 1972. Gary Jones won on a Yamaha en route to being crowned the inaugural Pro Motocross Champion.
• 2016 will be the 26th time the gate will drop at Unadilla for a 450 Class race.
• There have been 12 different winners over the past 25 years at Unadilla, with James Stewart serving as the only past winner on the gate this weekend.
• The streak of 450 Class races won at Unadilla by a rider named Ryan will end at six as neither Ryan Dungey nor Ryan Villopoto will be competing on Saturday.
• Unadilla was the site of KTM’s first-ever winning sweep of the 450 Class and 250 Class back in 2012 with Dungey and Marvin Musquin. Dungey clinched the first premier class title for KTM on that day.
• Yamaha won the first two races held at Unadilla in 1972 and 1973, but has not won in the premier class since.

All-Time Wins at Unadilla (Total Wins)
Ricky Carmichael (6)
Ryan Dungey (4)
Mike LaRocco (3)
Jeff Emig (2)
Ryan Villopoto (2)
Kevin Windham (2)

All-Time Wins by Brand at Unadilla (Last Win)
Kawasaki: 9 (2013)
Honda: 6 (2007)
Suzuki: 5 (2010)
KTM: 3 (2015)
Yamaha: 2 (1973)

250 Class Stats

2015 Overall Podium
1. Joey Savatgy
2. Marvin Musquin
3. Jeremy Martin

• The first 250 Class race held at Unadilla was October 15, 1989. Damon Bradshaw won on a Yamaha.
• This will be the 27th time the gate will drop for a 250 Class race at Unadilla, one more than the 450 Class. The 450 Class and 250 Class have competed together at the track since 1993.
• Guy Cooper holds the distinction of being the first rider in history to win back-to-back races at Unadilla in 1990 & 1991. His 1991 victory was the last of his legendary career.
• There have been only three riders to win consecutive races at Unadilla since then – Ryan Hughes (‘94-‘95), Ricky Carmichael (‘98-‘99) and James Stewart (‘02-‘04). Joey Savatgy will attempt to add his name to this rare list.
• Marvin Musquin’s first career win on U.S. soil came at Unadilla in 2012 without winning a moto. Joey Savatgy did the same to earn his first career win at Unadilla last season.
• An international rider has won five of the last nine 250 Class races at Unadilla.

All-Time Wins at Unadilla (Total Wins)

James Stewart (3)
Ricky Carmichael (2)
Guy Cooper (2)
Ryan Hughes (2)
Christophe Pourcel (2)
Ryan Villopoto (2)

All-Time Wins by Brand at Unadilla (Last Win)
Kawasaki: 14 (2015)
Yamaha: 4 (2014)
Honda: 3 (2013)
Suzuki: 3 (2005)
KTM: 2 (2012)