Skip to content

Yamaha announces 12-rider Junior National Squad | News

No less than 12 riders will fly the GYTR Yamaha Junior Racing flag in season 2020 as the national based junior motocross development program continues to forge ahead.

After a stunning 2019 season that saw the team claim no less than 16 state championships and four national championships, GYTR Yamaha Junior Racing has set itself a high bench mark to meet in 2020 but the riders are desperate to make every post a winner in the new year.

Each state will have two riders in full GYTR YJR colours, making a total of 12 riders. In addition, Yamaha will continue to assist its dealer network with supported riders to make a huge Yamaha presence at all junior events across the country.

To assist in fast tracking rider development, each state has its own manager / coach in place that can help guide young riders both on and off the track at every event.

“The program continues to achieve its goals and our two headline riders in 2019, Alex Larwood and Levi Rogers, have transitioned into the next phase of their careers with significant support from our senior race teams,” explains Yamaha’s Scott Bishop.

“Both of these riders have been with YJR since they were nine years old and join a long list of riders who have progressed onto establishing national and international racing careers.

“2019 was a sensational year for all the riders in the program and while a few have moved out and into senior ranks, we have bought in a host of young talent to fill the gaps and hopefully continue the success of recent years.

“Yamaha Australia continue to be at the forefront of junior development in not just motocross, but also off road and road racing and our commitment to racing is part of the DNA of Yamaha.

“We welcome the new riders and families to GYTR- YJR and wish them every success and Yamaha are proud to assist them in achieving their goals,” Bishop said.

The team of 2020 is Jake Turner, Ryder Kingsford and Jackson Camilleri mounted on the YZ125 and YZ250F. Angus Pearce, Wil Carpenter, Kayd Kingsford, Jake Cannon, Jake Rumens and Patrick Martin on the YZ85 and transition to the YZ125, while Jobe Dunne, Jay Jennings and Ryder Woodrow will handle the YZ65 and YZ85 small wheel classes.

In addition, Yamaha will also support via its dealer network and the bLU cRU program Heath Davy, Peter Wolfe (Team Moto), Deegan Fort (Fivestar Motorcycles), Jesse Holding (Mareeba Yamaha), Zac Watson (Suncity), Seth Carpenter (Coast Yamaha), Koby Hantis (Great Southern Motorcycles), Seth Burchell (Excite Motorsports) as well as multi time national girls champion, Charli Cannon.

For many riders the season will get under way in January and with the Australian Junior Nationals now moved to the first week of July, the racing intense will gather momentum quickly.

“It’s a massive commitment for the riders and families to chase their racing dreams and often riders will be racing 30 to 35 times a year. We admire their devotion and dedication and are only too happy to play a small part in furthering their racing careers,” Bishop ends.

GYTR- Yamaha Junior Racing 2020
WA: Jake Turner and Jake Rumens
SA: Wil Carpenter and Ryder Woodrow
TAS: Angus Pearce and Jay Jennings
VIC: Patrick Martin and Jobe Dunne
NSW: Ryder and Kayd Kingsford
QLD: Jackson Camilleri and Jake Cannon