Skip to content

Yamaha racings day of domination at Conondale | Latest

Yamaha supported riders won all three championship classes at Conondale MX Nats on the weekend, Dean Ferris taking MX1, Jed Beaton MX2 and Mitch Evans MXD.

Cameron Taylor also notched up the win in the Vets over 40’s, adding to Yamaha’s impressive weekend of results.

CDR Yamaha’s Dean Ferris won the round with his 2-1 results and gain another handful of points in the MX1 championship to now sit just six points back of series leader Kirk Gibbs. Ferris also took the win in the Superpole event to be the fastest qualifier to stamp his authority on the day.

DPH Yamaha’s Jed Beaton landed on top of the MX2 podium after finishing with 1-2 results on his YZ250F. Beaton is a proven performer at the Conondale circuit and the wet and rutty conditions suited the Victorian as he put on a master class in the final MX2 moto. Beaton now sits second in the MX2 championship, just seven points from the lead.

Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Mitch Evans took a perfect 1-1 in the two motos contested in the MXD division to take the round win and close to within 13 points of the championship lead. It was the first time Evans had finished with 1-1 results in a round and he was also the fastest qualifier in his division in what was a break through weekend for the North Queenslander.

And just as the dust, and a lot of mud, was setting, Victorian Y-Aim agent, Cameron Taylor takes a 1-1 result in the Over 40’s Vets class.

“It certainly was a round to remember for Yamaha,” states Yamaha motorsport manager, Ray Howard. “Days like this don’t come along often and it’s pretty special when they do, so congratulations to our teams and riders on a sensational job at Conondale on what was a difficult day on the track given the conditions,” Howard ends.

A full report from each team will follow in the coming days.

MX NATS- Round 7 Results
1st Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha/ YZ450F)

1st Jed Beaton (DPH Yamaha / YZ250F)

1st Mitch Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing / YZ250F)

Over 40 Vets
1st Cameron Taylor (Y-Aim / YZ450F)