Skip to content


Dean Ferris takes the win at QMP in the Thor MX1 class at Round 7 of the 2023 Penrite ProMX Championship, presented by AMX Superstores.

Brisbane Motorcycles Yamaha rider Dean Ferris proved to be the class of the field in the Thor MX1 category, while KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford outlasted the opposition in the Pirelli MX2 class, and GYTR Yamaha Junior Racing’s Jake Cannon took top honours in the MAXXIS MX3 class. In the EZILIFT MXW Class, Taylor Thompson raced to the top spot to secure her first overall for the year.

Thor MX1

The pressure was mounting atop the Thor MX1 Class, as the nation’s top riders entered the sunny QMP round looking to assert their dominance as the championship enters its final stages.

After a perfect Toowoomba round from Brisbane Motorcycles Yamaha’s Dean Ferris, the competition needed to bring a halt to the former three-time class champion’s momentum, and series rival Jed Beaton (Boost Mobile Honda Racing) would do just that as he topped the AMX Top 10 Pole Shootout timesheets to open the event.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy rider Aaron Tanti would qualify in second position, followed by the second Boost Mobile Honda Racing rider Kyle Webster in third. KTM Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs posted the fourth fastest time, whilst championship leader Ferris rounded out the top five.

All eyes were on the gate drop of the opening Thor MX1 moto, and the sight of Ferris launching out of the gates for the holeshot spelled problems for the rest of the field. The points leader would stretch out an 11.6 second margin on second place Beaton by races end, adding to his blistering form of late. Webster rounded out the podium in third place, while series veteran Brett Metcalfe (Penrite GO24 KTM) took fourth ahead of Tanti in P5.

The second moto belonged once again to Ferris, as he overcame an early race fall to make passes on all the main contenders, posting another statement ride as he enters Coolum in hot form. Webster rallied to second place, followed by Beaton in third. Fourth belonged to Gibbs, who finished ahead of Metcalfe in fifth.

With his QMP victory, Ferris extends his championship lead to 15 over Beaton, as Gibbs sits 49 in arrears as the series heads to Coolum for the final round.

Pirelli MX2

The Pirelli MX2 Class was once again headlined by series rivals Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team) and championship leader Wilson Todd (Terrafirma Honda), as Todd fired the first shot by topping the morning’s qualifying session. GASGAS Racing Team’s Noah Ferguson posted a time which secured him P2, whilst Crawford notched P3. Shadowing his KTM teammate was Kayden Minear in fourth ahead of Rhys Budd (Serco Yamaha) in P5.

Todd launched out of the gates for the opening moto holeshot, however was joined immediately by Crawford and Polyflor Honda rookie Brodie Connolly. The trio would break away from the rest of the field as Todd was stalked out front, before the pressure Crawford was mounting on the leader caused a fall. From there, it was smooth sailing for the number 199, as he breezed to the opening moto victory ahead of a recovering Todd and Connolly.

Ferguson put in a hard charge to race into the fourth-place position, with privateer Reid Taylor (KTM) put in an impressive ride to round out the top five.

Moto two was again the Crawford show, as he launched his KTM to the holeshot, and put together a consistent ride out front to secure the perfect 1-1 scorecard for the day. Connolly kept in tow with the race leader for a time before crossing the line in P2, followed by Todd, who suffered from a poor start, to finish in third place. Ferguson posted another P4 result finding success on the hardpack QMP surface, whilst Serco Yamaha’s Rhys Budd finished in fifth.

Crawford’s 1-1 gave him 50 points and the QMP round overall, with Connolly (P2) and Todd (P3) rounding out the podium as the pair finished on 42 points. Todd continues to lead the championship with a 27 point margin over Crawford in second place, whilst Connolly retains third in the series, 54 points from the lead.


The MAXXIS MX3 Class belonged to GYTR Yamaha Junior Racing Team youngster Jake Cannon, as the Queenslander successfully navigated the technical QMP surface and posted a perfect 1-1 moto scorecard for the overall.

GASGAS racer Byron Dennis continued his run of consistent results at QMP, with the championship leader having to fight hard throughout both motos from mid field starts. Dennis managed a 3-2 moto scorecard for the round and sits 25 points clear atop the series standings heading into the final round.

Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing’s Jack Mather continues to apply pressure to Dennis as he sits in P2 of the overall standings, however a split moto scorecard with his rival meant that he ended the day facing the same deficit and will now take the fight for the MAXXIS MX3 Championship into Coolum.