Skip to content

Australian Squad Announced for FIM WJMX | News

Motorcycling Australia (MA) has announced the Australian squad to be eligible for the FIM World Junior Motocross (WJMX).

Taking place at Horsham Motorcycle Club (VIC) 26 August, it will be the first time the WJMX will be coming to our shores and Australia is primed to take on the world!

The Australian squad will consist of 46 riders, which will represent the best young talent the nation has to offer. Also joining the team will be young gun, Charli Cannon who has been selected as the best female Junior in the country.

The squad of 46 riders will be trimmed to seven per class, with the possibility of Australian Wildcards being able to join the fold. Australia will represent the most riders in the field, due to being the host nation.

Australian riders have enjoyed a significant amount of success in the past. Notable standouts include Jett Lawrence taking out the 65cc class in 2014 and Jay Wilson in the 85cc – 150cc class in 2009.

Being able to host the WJMX is an amazing privilege and is without a shadow of a doubt the world’s most prestigious Junior Motocross event. It’s going to be an incredible sight to witness, delivering a show for spectators and competitors alike.

Mark Willingham will return as Team Manager for 2018 and is pleased with the Australian squad selection; “This year being a local championship, we are able to select a lot more riders for the squad. It’s going to be interesting to see how the dynamic works with a large group of riders. The host nation is allowed 7 riders per class and there may be opportunities to include wildcards after entries close, should there be enough spaces.”

“We will have a training camp, so they have an opportunity to be trained and coached on the Horsham track on the 14th and 15th of July. We will then have to select the Australian Team soon after.”

“This will be my fifth year as Team Manager and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to get involved, as it is a local event in Australia!” Willingham finished.

Selected riders
65 cc
Angus Pearce
Braden Plath
Deacon Paice
Jack Deveson
Jake Cannon
Jet Alsop
Kayden Minear
Kayd Kingsford
Koby Hantis
Ky Woods
Liam Owens
Seth Burchell
Seth Shackleton
Thomas Wood
Ty Sharp

Brad West
Cambell Williams
Charli Cannon
Connor Towill
Deegan Mancinelli
Jack Mather
Jackson Camilleri
Jesse Holding
Jasper Moon
Jett Burgess-Stevens
Jett Kipps
Mason Hills
Ryan Alexanderson
Ryder Kingsford
Ty Kean
Zac Watson

Alex Larwood
Bailey Malkiewicz
Blake Fox
Caleb Clifton
Dante Hyam
Jack Kukas
John Bova
Korey McMahon
Liam Andrews
Mason Semmens
Mathew Fabry
Noah Ferguson
Regan Duffy
Ty Jones
Tyler Darby