Skip to content

KIRK GIBBS THIRD AT MURRAY BRIDGE | Latest | News | Race Reports

Kirk Gibbs puts GASGAS Racing Team on the box at Murray Bridge with a third place at Round 5 of the 2024 ProMX Championship.

GASGAS Racing Team rider Kirk Gibbs raced to a solid third overall at the Murray Bridge round of the 2024 Australian ProMX Championship, making a welcome return to the South Australian facility.
After setting the ninth-fastest qualifying time, Gibbs charged to third in the first MX1 moto of the weekend after having to discard of his goggles mid-race, and then backed that up with a holeshot in moto two on his way to another P3 result.

It was another sign of front-running form for the former national champion, picking up his second podium of the season in third position overall. Gibbs remains fourth in the MX1 title fight, 22 points off the series podium with three Queensland rounds remaining.

Meanwhile, GASGAS Racing Team-supported Ky Woods raced to a convincing victory in the MX3 class at Murray Bridge, with a 1-1 sweep at the conclusion of the motos on his GASGAS MC 250F. He’s now back inside the top 10 in the standings, despite sitting out multiple rounds through injury.

GASGAS Racing Team MX2 rookie Byron Dennis is still recovering from a broken arm sustained at the previous round in Maitland, and sat out Murray Bridge. He’s currently 13th in the points, looking to return for the sixth round of the season in Toowoomba on July 21.

Kirk Gibbs: “Today ended up being good, although I was off the pace in Superpole and didn’t get the best gate pick as a result. I had a good battle with Brett Metcalfe in the first race, but I didn’t have any goggles – I don’t know how, but some dirt got under the roll-off, so I had to take them off and fight it out. I got a clean start in the second moto and got the holeshot, then held on for another P3 finish to end the day on the podium. It’s been five years since I’ve won a round and I’m hoping I can bridge the gap a bit more when the series heads to Queensland! The two front-runners are killing it, and I’d love to beat them at some stage, but I’ve got to enjoy these moments.”

2024 Australian ProMX Championship – Murray Bridge, SA

MX1 round results:
1. Kyle Webster (Honda)
2. Jed Beaton (Yamaha)
3. Kirk Gibbs (GASGAS Racing Team)
4. Nathan Crawford (KTM)
5. Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki)

MX1 championship standings:
1. Jed Beaton (Yamaha) 252
2. Kyle Webster (Honda) 245
3. Nathan Crawford (KTM) 210
4. Kirk Gibbs (GASGAS Racing Team) 188
5. Todd Waters (Husqvarna) 162

MX2 championship standings:
1. Brodie Connolly (Honda) 222
2. Ryder Kingsford (Yamaha) 192
3. Noah Ferguson (Honda) 190
4. Kayden Minear (KTM) 180
5. Rhys Budd (Husqvarna) 151
13. Byron Dennis (GASGAS Racing Team) 79