Skip to content

Tayla Jones awarded 2017 AMA Female Racer of the Year | News

Tayla Jones has been announced 2017 AMA Female Racer of the Year at the AMA Championship Banquet at the Hilton Downtown Columbus in Columbus, Ohio.

Jones, who moved to North Carolina from Australia last year, was announced as the AMA Female Racer of the Year. She was the 2017 WXC Champion from the AMSOIL AMA Grand National Cross Country Series, the Women’s Pro Overall Champion from the AMA Full Gas Sprint Enduro Championship Series, and the Women’s Elite Champion from the AMA National Enduro Championship Series.

“I couldn’t have had a better year, really,” Jones said. “It’s been my dream since I was a little kid to race in America.”

Enduro rider Cody Webb was recognized as the AMA Athlete of the Year from National Championship Series competition.

Webb earned the national No. 1 plate in the AMA Endurocross National Championship Series and the Extreme Enduro Pro class at the AMA Tennessee Knockout Extreme Enduro Grand Championship. He has won Tennessee Knockout five straight years.

In addition to his competition successes, Webb mentors younger riders.

“I was fortunate to be able to invite some of the up-and-coming riders in the sport to visit my home for a while,” he said. “We rode together. And I think we learned from each other. It’s a way to help keep this sport growing.”

Tayla Jones