Skip to content


Korey McMahon overcame an injured thumb and tough conditions to win his class at Mount Misery, Victoria for the 2024 AORC.

Super-challenging special tests and an injured thumb couldn’t stop GASGAS-backed racer Korey McMahon from clinching a class victory in Sunday’s fourth round of the 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) rounds at the Victorian-based Mount Misery venue.
The 22-year-old sprained his thumb when it caught on a wooden trackside stake early on during Saturday’s third round, but aboard his GASGAS EC 250F, McMahon put in a gritty performance around the demanding track to finish the day with a well-earned runner-up result in the E1 division.

Sunday saw the racers return to the same beaten-up track for round four of the series, but McMahon pushed past the pain and stayed solid all day as some of his main competitors faltered. After fending off some spirited challenges throughout the day, he stood victorious on top of the E1 podium with his first class win of the year.

The fifth and sixth rounds of the 2024 Australian Off-Road Championship season will take place in Edenhope, Victoria, from 18-19 May.

Korey McMahon: “We used the same special test both days, which was both long and brutal. I hyper-extended my thumb on a tomato stake yesterday and it was a challenge to hold onto the bars up the steep down-hills, as they put so much pressure on my thumb. I just tried to adapt my riding to suit, brace in one spot and dodge the bumps as much as I could! I turned up to every test and concentrated on staying consistent, and I reaped the rewards of that with a second yesterday and a win today. It was an awesome location, and yet again it was something like I’ve never ridden before. Now it’s time to rest up and sort out my thumb before the next stop in four weeks time.”

2024 Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) – Mount Misery, VIC

Round three results:
1. Kyron Bacon (Yamaha)
2. Korey McMahon (GASGAS)
3. Tom Buxton (KTM)
4. Brock Nichols (Husqvarna)
5. Billy Bray (GASGAS)

Round four results:
1. Korey McMahon (GASGAS)
2. Tom Buxton (KTM)
3. William Price (Kawasaki)
4. Brock Nichols (Husqvarna)
5. Billy Bray (GASGAS)