Skip to content


2022 KTM Australian Junior Motocross Championship

The 2022 Australian Junior Motocross Champions were crowned on Sunday in Rockhampton QLD at the final of the KTM Australian Junior Motocross Championship (AJMX).

250cc – 125cc

Western Australian Kayden Minear won the 250cc (15yrs) class title and backed it up with a second winner’s trophy in the 125cc class on his way to being crowned Australian champion for the class. Byron Dennis (GASGAS) secured the second podium step, with Kobe Drew (Yamaha) bringing home third.


“It was a really good week for me,” said Kayden Minear (66), “although it got off to a rough start with a crash in the early stages. Once I got on a winning streak though, there was no turning back! It means a lot to finish off my junior career with two titles before I step up to the seniors in 2023 – I wanted to make a statement and that’s what I did this week. The 2023 KTM 250 SX-F was awesome and I felt comfortable on it all week.”

Madi Simpson (Honda) was crowned in Female 100cc to 150cc 2/- & 200cc to 250cc 4/ 13 to under 16 years, just ahead of Danielle McDonald (Yamaha) as Darci Whalley to secured P3 overall in the category. Simpson also won Female 85cc 2/- & 150 4/- 12 to under 16 years, ahead of Emily Lambert in second and Stephanie Turnbull taking third.


Jet Alsop (KTM) secured the title in the 128cc to 150cc 2/- & 200cc to 250cc 4/- 13 to under 15 years, class, with Liam Owens (Husqvarna) second and Jake Cannon (Yamaha) P3.

Jake Cannon won the 100cc to 125cc 2/-13 to under 15 years class, ahead of Jet Alsop in the overall standings, as Owens completed the top three.


“My week progressively got better.” said Jet Alsop (42), ” It was awesome to get the job done in the 250 class and I left everything out there on the 125, but just came up a bit short. I had a lot of fun on the 2023 KTM 250 SX-F and am stoked to have been able to win an Australian title on it! It was such a good week and there was a great atmosphere around the pits.”

85cc 2 – 150cc 4

William Wadwell (GASGAS) dominated 85cc 2/- & 150 4/- Standard / Big Wheel 14 to under 16, winning all events and taking the title ahead of Patrick Butler (GASGAS) and Casey Wilmington (Husqvarna).

Heath Fisher (Husqvarna) wrapped up the national title in category 85cc 2/- & 150 4/- Standard / Big Wheel 12 to under 14 years, with Jack Deveson (Husqvarna) taking second and Jackson Fuller (GASGAS) in third overall.


“It’s been a really great week” said Heath Fisher (497), “I felt strong and consistent on the bike the whole time, regardless of the conditions that were thrown at us. I really like this track and I’ve ridden it a few times, but it formed up a lot differently this week due to the fact there weren’t as many big bikes on the track. It was very satisfying to finish the day with the overall and I felt like everything clicked all week.”


“This is my first-ever Australian titles podium,” said Jack Deveson (254) “so I’m pretty pumped on that and to see a reward for all the hard work we’ve put in this year. I had a couple of horrible starts in the first two finals, but I was still able to work my way through the pack well. I finally got a good start in the last moto and was able to make one pass on my teammate to take the win. All in all, it’s been a great weekend and I couldn’t be happier with the result.”

Heath Davy (Yamaha) took the Australian championship in 85cc 2/- & 150 4/- Standard Wheel 9 to under 12 years, with Seth Thomas (KTM) taking second ahead of Bodie Court (GASGAS).

2022 KTM Australian Junior Motocross Championship – Rockhampton, QLD

250cc (15yrs) results:

  1. Kayden Minear (KTM Junior Racing Team)
  2. Byron Dennis (GASGAS)
  3. Kobe Drew (Yamaha)
  4. Seth Burchell (Yamaha)
  5. Tyler Collins (Yamaha)
125cc (15yrs) results:
  1. Kayden Minear (KTM Junior Racing Team)
  2. Seth Burchell (Yamaha)
  3. Byron Dennis (GASGAS)
  4. Kobe Drew (Yamaha)
  5. Braden Plath (Husqvarna)
250cc (13-U15yrs) results:
  1. Jet Alsop (KTM Junior Racing Team)
  2. Liam Owens (Husqvarna)
  3. Jake Cannon (Yamaha)
  4. Koby Hantis (Yamaha)
  5. Seth Shackleton (KTM)
125cc (13-U15yrs) results:
  1. Jake Cannon (Yamaha)
  2. Jet Alsop (KTM Junior Racing Team)
  3. Liam Owens (Husqvarna)
  4. Ky Woods (GASGAS)
  5. Seth Shackleton (KTM)
Female 100-150 2/- & 200-250 4/- (13-U16) results:
  1. Madi Simpson
  2. Danielle McDonald
  3. Darci Whalley
  4. Jaylee Rimbas
  5. Emily Lambert
85cc (12-U14yrs) results:
  1. Heath Fisher (Husqvarna)
  2. Jack Deveson (Husqvarna)
  3. Jackson Fuller (GASGAS)
  4. Max Compton (KTM)
  5. Lachlan Allen (KTM)
  6. Cooper Ford (KTM Junior Racing Team)
85cc (9-U12yrs) results:
  1. Heath Davy (Yamaha)
  2. Seth Thomas (KTM)
  3. Bodie Court (GASGAS)
  4. Kyle Harvey (KTM Junior Racing Team)
  5. Nate Perrett (KTM)
Female 85 2/- & 150 4/- (12-u16) results:
  1. Madi Simpson
  2. Emily Lambert
  3. Stephanie Turnbull
  4. Rayne Alefosia
  5. Addison Orr